Scarlet Scribbles

Music | Travel | Marketing | By Andrew Darwitan

Taiwan D2: Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall + a Glimpse of Taipei 101

I know… I know… I promised to talk about heavenly lanterns and more glutton stuff in my last post, but I’m still missing a few photos so let’s have a small interlude on Day 2 first. :)

Taipei 101: World’s Fourth Tallest Building

That morning, I woke up to a beautiful sight of Taipei 101 from my hotel. I’ve been trying to snap a decent photo of it from my tour bus since I arrived in Taiwan. Far away on my way from Taoyuan International Airport to Taipei, I could already see the tall structure. So when I found out that the day’s itinerary include some photo-takings of Taipei 101 up-and-close, needless to say, I was excited.

We drove to Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall for our viewpoint. Geez, I was expecting somewhere higher. But hey, this viewpoint gave me a clean shot unobstructed with heads and cameras so I’m not exactly complaining.

At 509 meters, Taipei 101 was the world’s tallest building from 2007 until Dubai outcrazied it by another 300+ meters in 2010. Unfortunately, we didn’t have the time to go inside Taipei 101 as our itinerary was quite packed for the day. :(

We had about 15 minutes left so we decided to explore the area just a bit…

Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall

Sun Yat-sen is Taiwan’s founding father. He led an underground movement that resulted in Xinhai Revolution, eventually overthrowing China’s last imperial dynasty. The triumph of democracy over monarchy gave rise to the Republic of China (or more commonly known as Taiwan today, although it’s a little complicated to explain as both Taiwan and mainland China consider themselves as the successors of the revolution). The Memorial Hall is now home to relics from the Xinhai Revolution as well as those from Sun Yat-sen’s life.

A popular attraction among tourists is the changing of guards, which happens hourly. They’re kind of equivalent to the Queen’s Guards of UK, stationed at important buildings around Taiwan and allowed to have maximum of ZERO movement for the whole friggin’ 60 minutes. I certainly don’t want to find myself in their shoes, although the uniforms do look pretty cool.

I didn’t have much time to browse around the Memorial Hall much as we needed to rush to Shifen to release lanterns and then visit Jiufen + Fengjia for more eating (YAY!), which I’ll be writing about in my next post(s).

Did I miss anything interesting about the Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall? Share with me here, who knows I might return there in the future. :D

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Taiwan D2: Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall + a Glimpse of Taipei 101

  1. Pingback: Taiwan D7: Taipei 101 (Again!) | Scarlet Scribbles

  2. Pingback: Taiwan: Trip Summary & Suggested Itinerary | Scarlet Scribbles

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,246 other followers

