I’m Heading to Siem Reap This Month!

Just for the ancient city of Angkor.

I can only afford 3 days. And that includes flights and layovers, effectively reducing the world’s largest religious monument into a tragic 1 day. But after hearing just how scorching hot Cambodia could be in the dry March season, I guess this plan is not completely crazy after all.

I’ve learned from my crazily-packed Taiwan experience and I’ll refrain from doing everything this time. Here’s my short bucket list:

4 Temples I Can’t Wait to See at Angkor

Sunrise as seen from Angkor Wat in Siem Reap, Cambodia

1. Angkor Wat

It’s the largest of them all, and it seems to boast a scenic setting for sunrise. Looks like I have to force myself to wake up early, for once.

 

Ta Prohm roots in Siem Reap, Cambodia

2. Ta Prohm

Yes, those are freaking tree roots growing out of the ruins! This is also the setting for the famous Angelina Jolie scene in Tomb Raider.

Bayon in Siem Reap Cambodia

3. Bayon

They call this ‘Temple of the Smiling Faces’, and it has over 200 of them staring at different directions. And I’m just curious to find out the story behind it!

Banteay Srei in Siem Reap, Cambodia

4. Banteay Srei

This one is located about an hour away from the main Angkor site, so I’m not sure whether I’ll be able to fit it in. But this ‘Citadel of the Women’ seems to boast epic carvings so I’ll try to make this happen!

Book a trip to Angkor Wat, Ta Prohm and Bayon now.

What are the temples which you think I must visit within that 1 day? Is there any good spot to watch sunset without having to deal with the sardine-packed crowd? Anything that I must take note of before I hop on the flight to Cambodia? So many questions, so little time…

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Enjoy your trip! Look forward to reading all about your temple adventures! BTW, the first pic of this post is absolutely stunning!

    Like

    1. Andrew Darwitan says:

      Thanks Constance. I’m really looking forward to it, and esp. hoping to have the luck to see the great sunrise as seen from the first pic!

      Like

  2. I am also heading to Siem Reap soon, but in April. I think Angkor Wat and Ta Prohm are the best temples to visit, but Angkor Thom and Beng Melea are also amazing. Enjoy your stay!

    Like

    1. Andrew Darwitan says:

      I’m definitely visiting Angkor Thom. Beng Mealea looks gorgeous, but not sure if I can afford the time as it’s a little farther away from the main sites. You have a great adventure too, Lee!

      Like

Leave a Comment

