A Sunrise Beginning at Angkor Wat

Two alarms and one morning call from the hotel.

It’s already 4.30 am and I was still struggling to wake up (my day usually starts at 7.30 am), but I had a sunrise over Angkor Wat to watch. Almost begrudging my self-torturing sunrise plan, I finally get off from bed. With sleepy eyes, we walked along with the massive crowd through the darkness and the temple slowly began to show itself in the distance.

My excitement began to kick in… I was finally going to see Angkor Wat!

And there it was, the world’s biggest religious monument bathing under the moonlight, with faint hints of orange amidst the dark blue sky.

Sunrise at Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Despite crowds numbering hundred, we managed to get a good spot in a pond right in front of the temple.

The sunrise in Angkor Wat comes in two phases. The first phase happens at 6 am. I’ll be honest here: If you’re expecting a dramatic showcase of colors, it’s not going to happen here. The sun made a low-key appearance and suddenly the sky has turned 100% bright white.

At this point, I began rushing inside the Angkor Wat as I heard that’s the best way to avoid the crowd. About 1.5 hour later, when I was having a relaxing breakfast opposite the temple, the sun came out of its hiding. With the pond reflecting the ray of light, it was a beautiful view.

Sunrise at Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia

I was mesmerized with the beauty of what was once the great Khmer Empire. The sunrise was a great beginning to the day, which soon would get even better!

I’ll be sharing more about the Angkor Wat temple itself and other surrounding temples in my next posts.

Book a trip to Angkor Wat and other nearby temples here.

What are your favorite places in the world to watch sunrise? If you’ve experienced Angkor Wat sunrise before, feel free to share it here.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Chloe Blades says:

    This has to be the most amazing place I’ve ever been to. I’m going to write a new post on my experience there tomorrow it brings back the best memories. I’m currently travelling Australia and it’s great, but there are no temples like these!

    Like

    1. Andrew Darwitan says:

      It’s indeed a great place and has sparked my interest in ruins. Looking forward to your Angkor coverage, Chloe!

      Like

Leave a Comment

