Inside Angkor Wat: Stories of Wars Frozen in Time

You’ve seen that picture of Angkor Wat many times before: Five perfectly symmetrical lotus-shaped towers rising 65 meters across the pond.

It’s iconic. It’s beautiful. But it seems like few people actually bother to write or talk about what they saw once their shoes step on the great monument itself, which surprises me because it’s certainly no less impressive seeing Angkor Wat up close.

Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Knowing the historical background certainly helped me to enjoy Angkor Wat more. I saw other tourists too busy taking pictures, complacent to the information overload their guides are bombarding them with. I’m glad I made the decision not to go with a guide, which forced me to read up at my own pace.

The carvings on the Angkor Wat temple depict stories from Hindu mythology and the historical wars of Suryavarman II against the Cham. The revolutionary battle ushered the ancient Khmer civilization into its political and territorial apex, which led into prolific innovations in art and architecture.

Book a trip to Angkor Wat and other nearby temples here.

And if history is not your cup of tea, well… just sit back and look at the fine carvings:

Inside Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Inside Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia

Inside Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia

As I walked out of Angkor Wat to continue to other temples, I stopped and turned back for one last look. I saw memories of the great Khmer Empire frozen in time. A time when the then-reigning force conquered parts of central and southern Vietnam, as well as much of what would become modern Thailand.

Book a trip to Angkor Wat and other nearby temples here.

Inside Angkor Wat, Siem Reap, Cambodia

What did you most about Angkor Wat? Have you ever been to a place that brings you back in time?

6 Comments Add yours

  1. It is a place that you appreciate the architecture as well as the history.

    As for me, I loved visiting Ayutthaya in Thailand. Even though it is close to Bangkok, I was surprised by the lack of visitors. We basically had most of the temple ruins to ourselves when we visited. It was well worth the stop!!

    Like

    1. Andrew Darwitan says:

      I’m beginning to feel intrigued with Ayutthaya as well. And Sukhothai. But most of all, Bagan in Myanmar.

      Like

Leave a Comment

