Guess Where I’m Spending My Birthday This Weekend

I have never spent my birthday outside Indonesia (where I lived for the first 18 years of my life) or Singapore (where I’ve lived for the last 7 years) before, so this really excites me!

Malacca, Malaysia[Image Credit: HKmPUA]

Yes! I am going to Malacca.

I know, I know… Malacca is not a typical bucket list city and is not exactly a dream holiday to boast about.

But being the perfectionist that I am, planning a dream holiday means that I’m going to put a lot of undue pressure on myself. I need a stress-free birthday, ok. Sometimes it’s the simple things in life that we crave. And for that reason, Malacca is perfect!

It’s slow-paced enough. It’s chock-full of yummy street foods. It’s photogenic enough to keep my Instagrammer self happy. I didn’t have to take more than a few hours to generate my itinerary + I wouldn’t have to fear having to drop one place or two and regretting it later.

Besides, it’s who you’re spending the time with that is important… and well, let’s just say this one is really special hehe.

Come to think of it, it’s interesting that despite living so nearby to Malaysia, I’ve never really visited it except for that one time I visited Genting when I was a kid (and barely had any memory of it), so this is kind of a new experience to me.

PS. I’m departing tonight. Technically, I’ll reach Malacca around midnight so the birthday would be over by then, but whatever… it still feels like birthday to me! I can’t be any more excited celebrating it for full 3 days! And oh, by the way, it’s my 25th. 🙂

Where did you spend your last birthday?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Happy Birthday! Hope you have fun in Malacca.

    I rang in my 25th birthday at the Hard Rock in Bali. I spent my last birthday in Taiwan, but it was special as well.

    Like

    1. Andrew Darwitan says:

      Thank you!! Really looking forward to it.

      Like

Leave a Comment

