Next Stop: Tanzania!

Jambo!

Whoops… sorry, just practicing my Swahili and preparing for my next sojourn. I’m super excited right now, because in less than 2 weeks’ time, I will find myself crossing the great plains and steppes of Tanzania.

Tan… Zania?

Yeah, I know. I get weird looks whenever I tell people how desperate I am to take a trip to Tanzania. And I don’t blame them—I wouldn’t have been able to pinpoint where exactly Tanzania is on the atlas five years ago either!

Stereotype Map: Africa According to Americans

[Image Credit: Mapping Stereotypes]

As far as mass media is concerned, Africa is a giant mess of disease, poverty, famine, war, gun violence, pirates and corrupt political dictators. Some of us which are more “open-minded” would probably consider South Africa and Egypt as holiday destinations, but wouldn’t touch the rest of the continent.

…which is very unfortunate, because Africa is packed with GORGEOUS places.

Anyway, if you’re still wondering, Tanzania is this nice little country in East Africa. It’s just slightly southwards from Obamaland (aka Kenya).

Finding Tanzania on the map of Africa

[Image Credit: Nick Roux and Peter Fitzgerald]

And in contrary to the stereotypes, Tanzania is a playground for the riches.

Don’t believe me? Just ask Justin Timberlake and Jessica Biel, who spent their 2012 honeymoon in Tanzania.

Or Taylor Swift, who went all Hollywood glamour on us in Tanzania’s Serengeti National Park. (PS. It is partially filmed in Botswana, another African country high up on my bucket list!)

Still not famous and rich enough? What about Michael Jackson splurging millions of dollars to film one of the most expensive music videos ever shot at Tanzania’s Tarangire National Park?

My fortune is nowhere near a fifth of Taylor’s or Michael’s. I just happen to have a cool job in travel industry and be blessed with an opportunity to have a taste of Tanzania as part of my work.

Still, I can’t wait to sleep at these beautiful lodges…

Oliver’s Camp in Tarangire.

Oliver's Camp, Tarangire National Park, Tanzania

[Image Credit: Asilia Africa]

Lounging at this boma by the slope of a volcano…

The Highlands at Ngorongoro Crater.

The Highlands, Ngorongoro Crater, Tanzania

[Image Credit: Hakika Africa]

And swim at this gorgeous pool overlooking the African plains…

Sayari Camp at Serengeti.

Sayari Camp, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania

[Image Credit: Safari Index]

But nothing’s gonna beat waking up to wildebeests, rhinos and lions basking at the dawn of sunrise…

Wildebeest during sunrise in Africa

[Image Credit: Ingrid Vekemans]

Oh.

My.

Lord.

What a masterpiece!

This is gonna be my first African safari experience… and it looks like it’s gonna start with a bang!

Itinerary-wise, it’s focused on the classic Northern circuit, where all those famous Discovery Channel scenes are taken. I’ll spend 1 night in Arusha, 2 nights in Tarangire, 2 nights in Ngorongoro, 1 night in Central Serengeti, 1 night in East Serengeti, 2 nights in North Serengeti, before concluding my final night in Engare Nanyuki, where the majestic sight of Kilimanjaro awaits.

Tanzania, I’m ready!

Wildebeest during sunrise in Africa

[Image Credit: Tanzania Getaways]

Leave a Comment

