2017 Travel Resolutions: A Retrospective Look

Because all resolutions are made to be broken right?

Last year, I wrote my very first New Year’s Travel Resolutions—in fact, my first any resolution list—and it’s fun to look back at what I set out to achieve in 2017. Turns out… I’m pleasantly surprised I actually achieved some of these!

Franz Josef, New Zealand

1. Take another footstep to a new continent

Verdict: Successful. Australasia (or should I say Zealandia) officially became my fourth continent after I made my 14-Day New Zealand North & South Islands itinerary a reality.

2. Book tickets to 2+ countries on the Top 20 of my bucket list

Verdict: Successful. New Zealand, Tanzania, Indonesia all happened this year.

3. Take less photos, be more in the moment

Verdict: Bonus point for trying. Okay, I successfully restrained myself from bringing my camera to Philippines this year. *gentle pat* But who am I kidding LOL? I still took thousands, if not ten thousands, of travel photos this year—so much I still have backlog of three(!) trips which I haven’t uploaded yet.

Tbilisi, Georgia

4. Surprise myself with a country not on my bucket list

Verdict: Somewhat. I just returned from a trip to Azerbaijan, Georgia and Armenia last week. All three countries are not exactly off my wishlist radar, but they are not on my Top 40 either, yet I had a wonderful time in all three of them! I guess that counts for something?

5. See 3+ neighboring attractions which I haven’t been

Verdict: Hell yeah! This year is all about catching up on my biggest misses. Just look at my trophies: Bangkok, Bohol, Bromo, Ijen, Cameron Highlands, Kuala Lumpur, Mekong Delta. In fact, I still have two more getaways for 2017: Ipoh for Christmas and Macau for New Year’s Eve. If there’s one resolution I do especially well, it’s this one!

6. Be a tourist in Indonesia

Verdict: Successful. I visited West Sumatra in January (very underrated and off-the-radar but absolutely gorgeous), as well as Bromo and Ijen in September (rightfully rated for their everlasting popularity).

Ngorongoro Crater, Tanzania

7. Spend longer in each country

Verdict: Somewhat? 14 days in New Zealand and 10 days in Tanzania are quite commendable. But in 2017, I also have a grand total of 8 trips (counting the upcoming Ipoh & Macau) of literally just 3-4 days in each country, which are… uhm, not so commendable?

8. Learn a new language

Verdict: Failed. I guess I can now say “thank you” fluently in six new languages: shukran (Arabic), barakalaufik (Berber), asante sana (Swahili), teşekkür ederim (Turkish), didi madloba (Georgian), shnorhakalut’yun (Armenian). But I certainly haven’t moved past kindergarten in any of the aforementioned languages.

9. Learn diving… or at least how to float in water

Verdict: LOL. Did I even try?

10. Write more travelogues

Verdict: I wanted to say “somewhat”, but I’ll let this statistic speaks for itself.

2013: 48 posts
2014: 60 posts
2015: 33 posts
2016: 39 posts
2017: 45 posts

So I guess I marginally improved from 2015 and 2016, but failed miserably compared to 2014?

Better luck for 2018, I guess.

How well did you achieve your 2017 resolutions?

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Comment