3 Places in Taiwan I Didn’t Visit (That I Totally Should)

Taiwan is huge. We’ve spent 8 days exploring the whole island, but we’re far from experiencing the gems that it has to offer. I’ve compiled a list of three destinations that I would most likely see myself returning to Taiwan for. This time, all three destinations are natural beauties—I guess I’ve seen enough cities and night markets.

Also, traveling can be quite a nightmare without internet, so make sure you book a 4G WiFi to be picked up at Taiwan airport now.

Without further ado:

1. Yehliu Geopark

Yehliu Geopark

[Image Credit: thedeadparrot]

When me and my sister were planning our Taiwan trip, Yehliu Geopark was #1 on my list and Taroko National Park was hers. We couldn’t fit in both, so I let Yehliu go.

Located at the coastline of Wanli, Yehliu Geopark offers distinctive hoodoo stones such as Queen’s Head, Fairy Shoe, Sea Candles, Ice Cream Rock, Bee Hive and many others. I’m a sucker for geological formations and those sounded amazing to me.

Book a trip to Yehliu Geopark now.

2. Yushan National Park

Mount Yushan is the highest peak on Yushan National Park

[Image Credit: Kailing3]

Yushan is a panoramic gem with shining stainless jade-like snow covering its peak. At 3,952 meters, Yushan is the world’s fourth highest mountain on an island (i.e. non-continental landmasses). The National Park itself contains over thirty 3,000m+ peaks(!), making it a great spot to watch sunrise, sunset and “Sea of Clouds”.

Despite its beauty, Yushan is among the least visited national parks in Taiwan due to its remote location. Looking for an extraordinary Taiwan experience that is off the beaten path? Look no further.

Book a trip to Yushan National Park now.

3. Northeast Coast National Scenic Area

Nanya Rock Formations can be found on the Northeast Coast National Scenic Area

[Image Credit: LH Wong]

This! This is what I was expecting when I signed up for the East Coast road trip (not some random monotonous ocean). There are plenty of beauties to pack into the itinerary: Nanya Rock Formations, Long Dong Cliffs, Yin Yang Sea (Bay of Two Colors) and Shifen Waterfall.

Book a trip to the Northeast Coast + Jiufen now.

Another possible route for those with time for longer excursion may include the coastline towards Yilan, which remoteness gives a very different taste of Taiwan.

Are there any places in Taiwan which you’d like to visit so badly? Share with us…

All Posts on the 2013 Taiwan Trip:

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Homepage says:

    Basically had to point out I am just ecstatic that i stumbled on the page.

    Like

  2. astrid says:

    your taiwan blogposts are very helpful! i’ve been scouring the internet for itineraries and recommendations for my upcoming trip. thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. Andrew Darwitan says:

      Hi Astrid, I’m happy it helps! Hope you have a great time in Taiwan. Lovely place! 🙂

      Like

  3. Melody says:

    been checking your posts.. and finally, now we’re sure to go last week of this month..thanks for some infos/tips i got here—from you 🙂

    Like

    1. Andrew Darwitan says:

      Thanks Melody! I’m happy it helps ^^

      Like

Leave a Comment